The heads of state and government of nine European countries, in addition to the President of the European Commission, met last Monday in Ostend (Denmark) at the North Sea Summit to agree on new commitments regarding the development of offshore wind energy in the North Sea.

The common objective of these nine European countries is to increase offshore wind energy production to 120 gigawatts (GW) of installed capacity by 2030, compared to the current 30 GW. Their ambition doesn’t stop there, as they aim to reach at least 300 GW of installed capacity by 2050.

Which countries are part of the North Sea offshore wind energy summit agreement?

The first North Sea Summit, held last year in Esbjerg (Denmark), consisted of Germany, Belgium, Denmark, and the Netherlands. This is the second North Sea Summit in which, in addition to the four signing countries, France, Ireland, Luxembourg, Norway, and the United Kingdom have joined.

The leaders of these nine European countries met in Ostend with the main objective of making the North Seas a renewable powerhouse for Europe. This objective will be achieved by increasing the capacity of offshore wind energy, as well as developing the future offshore wind energy network.

In addition, the Danish city of Ostend has been chosen as the location to sign the Marine Wind Industry Manifesto (Industry Declaration). More than one hundred companies, representing the entire offshore wind energy and renewable hydrogen value chain in Europe, celebrate the expansion of offshore wind energy in the North Seas signed by the governments of the nine European countries. This deployment of offshore wind power in the North Seas aligns with Europe’s net-zero energy targets, which must be achieved from European territory.

Source: Ambientum